Notifications
Clear all

Offside Question!

sandgroper
(@sandgroper)
Noble Member

I was a bit confused last night when Hull KR scored their comeback try. The man with the ball ran behind two of his team mates looking for the gap (no problem about obstruction) but surely this puts them offside and in front of the ball. They then join the game from a 'downtown' position and score.

Am I correct in saying that they were

offside? 

Those of advanced years will maybe remember that Wigan used to have a Ellery Handley regularly standing alongside a ptb and joining in the move from what was an offside position.

My son queried this, as a referee, with the RFL. Their response was that technically he was offside but they didn't apply the rule!!!! 

Quote
Topic starter Posted : 05/08/2022 11:53 am
Former Chemic
(@former-chemic)
Honorable Member

For me, they were indeed offside.

But if the RFL has admitted that the rules aren’t always applied, that sort of explains some of the curious decisions made by referees  - especially when it affects us!!

ReplyQuote
Posted : 05/08/2022 1:05 pm
Mr H reacted
Share: